Leftover Makeover

I made Enchiladas in Hotdogs & Enchiladas For Danish Boys and had some of the chicken filling as well as tortillas leftover. Now, I may be an extravagant cook but not a wasteful one. Even though fridge space is scarce, I wasn’t about to just toss my leftovers into the trash. I knew exactly what I was going to do with them the next day.

There was just enough chicken to fill one quesadilla which wasn’t going to feed the both of us. Fortunately, I had some fresh spicy beef sausages. Deceptive these sausages… They look like skinny regular beef sausages but they pack a fiery punch! Love them! I sliced them, fried them and filled another quesadilla.

Quesadillas are very versatile. They do not have to be purely Mexican. You may fill your quesadilla with anything you want. I like to think of them as Mexican grilled sandwiches. I’ve done a breakfast version with scrambled eggs, bacon/ ham, tomatoes and cheese. My DCM liked that plenty. Veer from the Mexican route and use leftover curry or a stew as filling as well. Go crazy!

Quesadillas are a lot easier to put together than Enchiladas. Place tortillas on baking paper on an oven sheet, layer on cheese and filling of your choice then more cheese, maybe some tomatoes, re-fried beans or salsa, top with more tortillas, and pop in a pre-heated oven (175 degree Celsius). I place a sheet tray on top of the quesadillas to weigh them down as the top tortilla has a tendency to curl. This does not happen when you cook them in a pan. So there is that for another option. I prefer to just chuck them all into the oven as it saves time and effort.

Serve with some salad on the side and guacamole.

Gooey cheese...

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nickrokicki
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 00:29:19

    Ggerri,
    I loved your innovative approach to making your leftovers into a yummy chicken delight! Feel free to come make me food anytime. Lol

    If you wanna take a peek at my upcoming passion, check out (www.PeteThePopcorn.com).

    Nick Rokicki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

