Soba So Good

I have a thing for soba noodles. Zaru soba (cold soba noodles dipped in tsuyu and spring onions) or Yakisoba (boiled soba fried simply with vegetables and meat) are the two more popular ways of eating soba.

Its simple, clean flavour is so pleasing. The other thing I love about soba is its springy texture, as well as its ability to keep from going to mush as quickly as other noodle varieties.

I get cravings for it from time to time (like now…)

While I love Zaru soba best, I cook Yakisoba due to convenience as it is an all in one, healthy meal. This time around, I split the meat component from the soba. See recipe here.

I love donburi but I try to abstain from eating so much rice especially at night. The reason I love donburi doesn’t have so much to do with the rice though. It has to do with the topping. Oyako-don is my favourite. Chicken, onions and egg simmered in a salty sweet sauce and eaten steaming hot over Japanese rice is a comfort food of mine. I had it every day for a period of time whilst I was in school.

I came across some Kurobuta shoulder shabu shabu in the supermarket and decided to make a pork version of the Oyako-don topping sans the egg. So good… Pork is good. Or if you do not like pork, go with chicken. See recipe here.

The versatility of these two dishes makes it a busy cook’s dream. And makes tummies very happy!

Something’s missing…
Perfect!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Chicken with Soba Noodles in Jasmine Tea Broth | Seattle Foodshed

Leave a Reply

