Oh My Tart…

Lemon Buttercream is SOOOOOO nommy!

Much as I was over the moon with how well my Vanilla-la-la cupcake turned out, it is a cupcake that needs frosting. The great thing about a vanilla cupcake is that it is so generic, there isn’t anything you cannot top it with.

A pink vanilla buttercream with sprinkles seems to be the de rigueur frosting for vanilla cupcake. Vanilla on vanilla? I love pink but, boring much?

I had some of the sticky lemon glaze left over from my lemon cupcakes a.k.a. The Tart and lots of lemons Lemon buttercream anyone?

Lemon buttercrea…Mmmm is my new love. I whipped it till it was creamy, smooth and stiff. Imagine if you can, a burst of lemon sunshine in a cloud.

Since sprinkles are called for, I decided on my Waitrose silver pearls. I love Waitrose’s products!!! I would love to have every single Waitrose product there is… Their products are packaged in such a way that although simple is so appealing; and they really pay attention to what they create. QC Baby!

Such adorable captions

Pretty as it was, the duckling yellow dotted with bits of silver lacked a little contrast in colour. I guiltily remembered the punnet of raspberries I’d finished earlier in the day for a snack. How lovely would a luscious red raspberry look atop that little swirly hill of lemon buttercream…? My blueberries will have to do instead.

Can you spot the bits of lemon zest in the buttercream?

Although they weren’t the burst of colour I had intended, they are still pretty, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

