The Patient Soup Nazi

I am obsessed with soup. I know I gush about a lot about food in general but soup is something I am particularly consumed with.

There are those who salivate over the thought of chocolate or truffles or even steak and French fries, but I would forgo all of that for a good bowl of soup. I know it’s just soup and there’s nothing fancy about it. Yet, soup is to me what foie gras is to others.  I don’t know how to explain it. For me, soup is like that guy you’re so crazy over the moon about but no one can seem to see why. Like Charlotte and Harry in Sex & The City!

Let me be the first to tell you, drinking alcohol is the worst thing to do in cold weather. Hot soup is the best because the process of digesting food helps to warm you up.Morgan Freeman

What does good in bed mean to me? When I’m sick and I stay home from school propped up with lots of pillows watching TV and my mom brings me soup – that’s good in bed.Brooke Shields

Many only think of soup on a cold day or when sick. Where I’m concerned, soup is good for any meal, any day of the week. On a rainy or sick day, soup is heaven.

I remember being in primary school and eagerly looking forward to going home after school on the days the Mumsy cooked white rice and made a big pot of soup for dinner before she left for work. This meant that I would have rice and soup for lunch too. It was a meal that though basic and simple was so delicious, brought so much joy and conveyed love. These days, if I want soup, I have to make it myself. Sometimes I get lucky and the Mumsy has some leftover on the weekend when I visit the Parentals and my Poofballs.

Although chicken soup and mushroom soup are the popular ones (I will blog about them soon enough) and everyone seems to love Tom Yum (also another upcoming blog post), there is one soup in particular the Mumsy makes which ranks number one on my soup list. Lotus root soup… It’s a Chinky soup so it might not be everyone’s cup of tea.

Most Chinky soups are very easy to make. You basically dump everything into a pot and boil. The only trouble with soup is that you need a lot of patience. Six hours or more is a long time to wait. Why such a long wait? Shouldn’t a good hour or so be good enough? It would be if you like a mediocre soup. I like soup that has been simmered till the flavours of the ingredients permeate the soup, the broth intensifies in flavour and is then reabsorbed back into the ingredients. And since I do not have a slow cooker or pressure cooker (I really want them but…), I have to wait out the cooking time.

For me, lotus root soup is the S(o)uper Star of soups and my indulgence. It is one of the few Chinky dishes my DCM is not fond of, so when I make a pot of lotus root soup, it is all mine! Since he will not be home for dinner all of this week, it is the perfect time for lotus root soup.

Yesterday, I endured 6 hours of torture, breathing in the heady aroma of the lotus root soup cooking away, before I finally caved in and had my first proper bowl. It was comforting and delicious. It was also a rainy day which made having a hot bowl of soup that much more enjoyable.

Today, after more gentle simmering last night and a hearty boil, it is… I don’t have a word for better than delicious. Amazeballs? For the lotus root soup lovers out there, give my recipe a go and try to be patient, for all good things come to those who wait. If you do, I would love to know what you think. I need another bowl now.

Unfortunately, lotus root soup has one flaw. It disappears really fast…

Leave a Reply

