Pork Hoarder Alert

“Any part of the piggy
Is quite all right with me
Ham from Westphalia, ham from Parma
Ham as lean as the Dalai Lama
Ham from Virginia, ham from York,
Trotters Sausages, hot roast pork.
Crackling crisp for my teeth to grind on
Bacon with or without the rind on
Though humanitarian
I’m not a vegetarian.
I’m neither crank nor prude nor prig
And though it may sound infra dig
Any part of the darling pig
Is perfectly fine with me.” Noel Coward

I always have pork in the fridge. I’m Chinese and my DCM hails from the land of pork, Denmark. We are two races/ nationalities obsessed with pork. Bacon is a staple. It never runs out and it is always streaky. And like the Mumsy, I always seem to have minced pork in the freezer. Even if I don’t use it during the week, I just get more the next week. Hoarder syndrome…

As I’d mentioned in I Am Hoarder, Hear Me Roar, I was having a ‘have to cook, haven’t done the groceries and can’t be arsed to leave the house’ sort of week. I’d exhausted quite a bit of resources in the kitchen and was cracking my brain over what I could make for Thursday dinner without having to go to the supermarket. I found Maple bacon, half a head of cabbage, eggs, minced pork and a pack of tofu. Bacon fried rice and Mapo Tofu immediately sprang to mind! Fried rice and Mapo tofu is my DCM’s favourite chinky food combination.

Fried rice is the home version of fast food. You dump everything into your pan or wok, mix it up and you’ve got an all-in-one-bowl, balanced meal in minutes. It’s also a great way to clear the fridge. Bacon fried rice is so easy and so nommy! To top it off, my DCM is a fan. See recipe here.

I adore tofu. Mapo Tofu is one of my all-time favourite dishes. Spicy, salty braised minced pork and tofu… On its own with a steaming bowl of rice on a cold, rainy day or any other day really is delicious simplicity at its best. See recipe here.

If you’ve had a long day and are not in the mood for much fuss yet want something good, this is the meal to make.

Leave a Reply

