Gg’s Mapo Tofu

Mapo Tofu ranks high on my list of comfort foods. I’ve loved since the day I had it. I don’t remember when that happened but I just remember loving it. It came as a very pleasant surprise that my DCM was a fan of it too! What luck! We order it when we eat out and I love cooking it at home. While there’s the packaged sauce which makes an already very easy-to-cook dish even easier, it just doesn’t cut it (I tried it in my younger days and was not impressed). Szechuan pepper powder is key. I’d always made it without until I found a bottle of the stuff in the supermarket, tried it and I’ve never gone back since.

If you are pairing Mapo Tofu with fried rice, cook the Mapo Tofu first and let it braise gently while you cook the fried rice.

Gg’s Mapo Tofu Recipe:
(serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 300 grams minced pork
  • 2 cloves garlic (finely minced)
  • few sprigs spring onions (chopped)
  • 1 block of Fortune brand Chinese Tofu (cut into 8 pieces)

  Seasoning

  • 2 tablespoons Lee Kum Kee garlic black bean paste
  • 2 tablespoons Lee Kum Kee chilli bean sauce
  • 1 tablespoon soya sauce
  • ½ teaspoon Szechuan pepper powder
  • ½ teaspoon white sugar
  • ½ cup water

Directions

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a pan over medium fire.
  2. Combine seasoning ingredients in a bowl. Mix well.
  3. Once oil is smoking, add minced pork and stir vigorously to break up pork.
  4. Once pork loses its pink colour, add garlic and toss.
  5. Add seasoning and stir well.
  6. Turn fire down to small.
  7. Add tofu and mix.
  8. Braise uncovered for 5 to 10 minutes and sauce thickens.
  9. Add spring onions and serve.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 15:02:21

    We love Love LOVE mapo tofu as well!! Thanks for the tips.. Will definitely try it in the next couple of day!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Ggerri
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 10:24:59

      I’ve given it much thought and have come to the conclusion it is my favourite tofu dish! Try it and let me know if it tastes better.

      Reply

  2. Linda
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 08:34:20

    Harro Honey!! Tried this recipe yesterday, and we simply love it!! Mark and I have always been big fans of Mapo Tofu, but used to purchase pre-made Japanese sauce (or restaurants-but in Perth I don’t think we’ll be able to locate a restaurant that sells up to par Mapo Tofu!!), but we thought that the pre-made sauce was too oily and unhealthy. This recipe is so delicious, & feels lighter and healthier in comparison!! Thank you so much for sharing!! x

    Reply

    • Ggerri
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 10:46:42

      Herro my Hunny Bunny! Most welcome! Am so glad the both of you like it! The good thing about making it yourself is that you can control what goes in. xoxo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

