I Am Hoarder, Hear Me Roar

Ever had one of those days when you have to cook, haven’t done the groceries and can’t be arsed to leave the house?

That’s me this week. I got rid of 12 tiny moles on my face at one go. I look hideous. It was a random spur of the moment sort of thing. Anyway, I refuse to leave the house. And I hadn’t done proper grocery shopping over the weekend.

My DCM gives me a lot of grief for the tiny fridge which always looks like it’s about to hurl and how much stuff has appeared in the kitchen since I’ve moved in. Typical male who only uses the fridge to store alcohol and ketchup. On the rare occasion he goes grocery shopping with me, it is a given that I will get teased about how I always buy more than what I’d originally set out to get. I cannot help it! I’m sure many of you are the same…

Ok, I’ll just come out and say it. I’m a hoarder! And not ashamed about it!

I’m not one of the crazy hoarder types on those reality programmes. I hoard wisely. Perishables like leafy vegetables do not keep well. Meats are frozen or marinated.  Prawns can be frozen for long periods of time. Once fish is frozen, I think it’s best not to have it steamed or in soups. Always have eggs in the fridge. Breads can also be frozen. Noodles, pasta and rice are essentials. Cabbage, capsicum, carrots, cheeses, cherry tomatoes, cured meats, frozen corn, frozen edamame, lemons and potatoes are some of many things that keep well. And my baking stuff of course!

Because I hoard, I’ve been able to cook all of this week without leaving the apartment for groceries. Blackened Garoupa with Crunchy Passion Salad on Monday, Spicy Roast Chicken with Mini Farfalle Salad on Wednesday, Bacon Fried Rice with Mapo Tofu on Thursday and I think pizza should be on Friday’s menu.

So, hoard away! One of these days, you’ll be glad you did…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jemi
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 04:39:45

    Tru dat! Plus you should always stock up on tinned/packaged/frozen stuff when it’s on sale. Holla!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

