Who Marinates Fish?

I do! And it is awesome!

I am not a fan of cooked salmon. I don’t mind it as sashimi. I can eat A LOT of  smoked salmon or Gravlax. But the moment it’s cooked, YUCK! I want to run away and hide. However my DCM really likes salmon in all its glory, so it stays on my grocery list. It’s also a good source of Omega 3 as well as other unique health benefits.

What’s a girl to do then? Marinate it! Salmon has such a strong flavour it can take almost anything you do to it. I came up with a chinky marinade based on the stuff I had in the kitchen, threw the salmon fillets in and let them soak up the chinkiness for 2 days.

Salmon + Hoisin = Love

To go with the chinky theme, I cooked some rice and fried up some chinky-style vegetables to go with my chinky salmon, cooked in an un-chinky manner. I grilled it in the oven! This is now my new favourite method of cooking fish fillets. No mess, no fuss, no flipping. Always perfect results. See recipe here.

My DCM said the salmon was good and cleaned his plate. And, for the first time I didn’t want to run and hide eating cooked salmon.

I leave you with this quote: “A man is but a mere piece of meat marinated by the juices of his successes” – Anthony Mojarro

Leave a Reply

