Still Searching For The Perfect Chocolate Cupcake

The perfect chocolate cupcake. What exactly constitutes the perfect cupcake? I think the perfect chocolate cupcake is fluffy, light, soft and moist texture-wise, not too sweet (to allow for frosting) and it has to be intensely chocolatey.  

In my quest for the perfect chocolate cupcake, I’d done additional research and read that mixing cocoa powder with hot water would better bring out the chocolate flavour. I tweaked the Simple Chocolate Cupcake (1) recipe to make some birthday cupcakes for my sweet friend Cynthia. This would be my contribution to her little pot luck birthday party at another friend Charmaine’s home.

The result was a slightly more chocolatey cake, a little lighter in texture than the Simple Chocolate Cupcake (1) which made it a tad better but it still wasn’t perfect. It’s a good thing there’s that Nutella frosting to save the day.

Baking them in pretty pink and white polka dot cups and adorning with mini marshmallows as well as a sprinkle of icing sugar after spreading on the Nutella butter cream made them almost too adorable to eat! Almost.

I recommend eating these with a teaspoon. They can get quite messy. See recipe here.

I received many sweet compliments at the party so that was a lovely reward for my effort.

But I knew I was still unsuccessful in my quest for the perfect chocolate cupcake so I’ve come up with one which I’m hoping might be the perfect chocolate cupcake…


3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Mint Buttercream « Beautiful Disasters
  2. Dane Kinning
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:58:26

    I used to be very happy to search out this internet-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

